Exhibition Explorations: The Pride and the Passion | QUAD Skip to main content

Find what you’re looking for

Close menu
Art

Exhibition Explorations: The Pride and the Passion

Exhibition Explorations: The Pride and the Passion

Join QUAD Senior Curator for a whistle-stop virtual exhibitions tour of the 2014 multi-faceted QUAD exhibition project The Pride and the Passion: Contemporary Art, Football and The Derby County Collection

Football is a truly global sport; a game that can mean so much, to so many people. In what was a World Cup year in Brazil, 2014 (and the same year that Derby County reached the Championship play-offs), The Pride and the Passion was a series of exhibitions in QUAD that focused on the essence of ‘the football crowd’ and ‘the football icon’, documenting the energy, politics, tribalism, and zeal of the fan, and the status and impact of the hero figure, through a range of film, sculptural, digital and photographic works - and featuring a range of actual football memorabilia and artefacts - personal to the geographical siting of QUAD, in Derby - from The Derby County Collection archives.

To visit QUAD The Pride and the Passion webpage, click here.

 

Additional resources:

'Offside Stories' virtual publication: https://issuu.com/quad5/docs/overall_doc/1

The Derby County Collection: http://www.derbycountycollection.org.uk/

A brief film tour by Derby County FC TV: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vksCqQ3zo1E

To see Doug Smith's film 'Memories of the Baseball Ground' in full: https://vimeo.com/131028036

Artist websites/ links:

Ronnie Close: http://www.ronnieclose.com/
Ravi Deepres: http://ravideepres.com/
Jaskirt Boora: https://www.jaskirtboora.com/about
Brendan Oliver: https://vimeo.com/brendanoliver
Stuart Roy Clarke: https://www.homesoffootball.co.uk/
Jordan Baseman: https://www.jordanbaseman.co.uk/
Henry/ Bragg: https://www.henrybragg.com/
Jeannette Ehlers: http://www.jeannetteehlers.dk/
Victoria Hall: https://www.axisweb.org/p/victoriahall/#info
Gad Salner & Vadim Tarasov: http://www.footyfair.com/2015/02/kaduregel-shefel-jewish-arab-diversity.html